band rehearsal: I can see the train a’comin’ from far down the tracks…

…and oh, yes, what a wonderful train wreck this is gonna be, because I’ve convinced the guys in my country-music cover band that we should do a Taylor Swift song.  None of them has ever heard a Taylor Swift song before, as they’re all old dudes in their fifties who don’t listen to teenybopper radio.  I played them “You Belong With Me” on my guitar yesterday at rehearsal, and they said it was “sweet” and agreed to do it.  “This’ll appeal to the teen fanbase,” joked one of the Chucks (bass player & drummer are both named Chuck).

I made them watch the video for the song, and the looks on their faces was pretty priceless.  “What in the hell is that?” said Tom, wrinkling his nose like he’d smelled something awful as he watched a pigtailed Taylor flirt with the cutest boy in school.  They told me I sing the song better than Taylor, which is an outright lie, but I appreciate it nonetheless.  Despite the junior-high look of the video, they maintained that it’s a good song (which it is) and said we should still cover it (which we will).  Why do I feel like I’m corrupting these old guys, who’ve been in punk bands since the ’70s, with this teenybopper nonsense?

They don’t seem to want to kick me out of the band yet, so we’ll see what awful cover concepts I can come up with next week.

6 responses to “band rehearsal: I can see the train a’comin’ from far down the tracks…

    • Hey, Taylor Swift is awesome. And the guys in the band want to cover that song, too, so I’m not the only one who likes it. Tom says he’s gonna go out and buy her album. Sounds like you’re in the minority in your opinion. Team Taylor!

      • I’m almost always in the minority in my opinions. Pretty sure you already knew that about me. So you’re gonna cover one of Taylor’s songs? When can I hear it?

  1. I have to admit that I don’t terribly mind Taylor Swift whenever one of her songs pops up on the Top 40 radio.

    Here’s a popular (and unofficial) orchestral mash-up of Love Story and Viva La Vida:

Comments